RSS Feed

Jewelry Display

Posted on

I recently (yesterday) completed a project that has been in the works for a couple YEARS now.  I started this project when we were living at our old apartment and I had a little crafting corner in our office.  I wanted to make an “inspiration board” to hang above my desk with – you guessed it – things that would inspire me.  Go figure.

I started by going to the thrift store and selecting a nice large framed picture.

So pretty, huh?

Then I took that picture out and threw it away.  Seriously, though – chucked it.   After that I cut a piece of cork board from a nice, big, framed cork board whose frame had cracked in the moving process from our previous apartment.  I covered it with a nice, cheery yellow fabric that I also found at the same thrift store.

I used the staple gun that my husband bought me for our third anniversary to attach the fabric to the cork.  Best. Anniversary Present. Ever.  Seriously. I use that thing more than either of us thought I would.

And, voila!  There was my fancy new cork/organizational/inspiration board.

And then something happened.  We bought a condo and we moved.  And in our new condo, our office/guest bedroom is pretty tiny.  And I didn’t have a craft corner anymore.  Which is sad, but that’s besides the point.  I didn’t have a purpose for my fancy new board anymore.  So it sat in a corner for a couple months.  Then I decided to turn it into a jewelry organizer to hang in the bathroom.  So I spray painted it and covered it with black fabric and then leaned it against the wall in the corner of the bathroom.  And then it sat there for another 9 months.

Until yesterday!  When we finally got around to hanging it up and then I finally got to take all my jewelry out of the box it had been sitting in since we moved LAST JUNE.  I, of course, didn’t take any pictures of the transition from yellow organizing board to black and white jewelry display.  Boo.  But here it is in all of its – finally – finished glory! 

I’m so happy with how it turned out!

3 responses »

  1. LOVE LOVE LOVE! I would literally need 8 of those..

    🙂

    Reply
  2. Let me just clarify… I made you a whole “crafting kit” as an anniversary gift. Not ONLY a staple gun. There was actual thought behind it 😐

    Reply

Leave a Reply

