RSS Feed

WELCOME BACK!

Posted on

Well, now that it’s been almost an entire year since I have blogged and I miserably failed last year’s New Years Resolution, I am back!  So much has happened in the past year.  I thought the only way to sum it up could be in pictures.  Lots of projects completed, trips taken, fun times spent with friends and weddings.  So many weddings.  I’m pretty sure we were in the double digits at last count.

So, in no particular order, a picture recap of the past year:

One of the biggest things that happened this past year (in June) was that we bought a house!  Well, technically a condo, but it’s our happy little home.  We were absolutely not planning on purchasing any time soon.  We had just moved into our 2nd apartment 8 months before we put the offer on the condo, but things just worked out and it was too good to pass up.  We are so happy to be homeowners!  

As soon as we closed we got started on painting, and painted every room in the place before we moved in.  It was so much work, but definitely worth it.  Hopefully I will have lots of future posts about all of the projects that I have completed in our house.  I have done quite a bit of stuff already, including custom curtains for the master bedroom and the office, it was just in my “too lazy to blog” phase.  Sorry.

I have honestly etched more glasses than I can count since the first time I blogged about etching glasses.  Ironically, that was my last post on here.  They make such amazing, personalized gifts.  But they are a LOT of work!  I need to come up with a better system if I want to keep it up.  Any suggestions?

Some other projects over the past year:

“Tie” dyed easter eggs.

Custom made coasters.

Patching my husbands “mouse elbow” – don’t ask.

An office organizational board that I made before we bought our condo.  
It never got used, but I have already repurposed it into a jewelry organizer for our bathroom.  Now if I could only get Mr. Mouse Elbows to hang it up!

Baking.  Lots of baking.

In September, we took an amazing trip to Norway.  We spent 10 days seeing and doing as many things as we possibly could.  Visiting family, exploring Oslo, seeing Lillehammer, and spending a few days in the mountains surrounded by nothing but sheep and beautiful scenery.  It was such a great trip.  You can read a little bit more about that trip on another blog that I’m terrible at updating, here.

In October, I entered a pumpkin into the pumpkin carving contest at my office building.  I have to be honest, the idea was not original, but whose are these days!  I made one Mrs. Pork E. Pine and was given the award for “most clever”.  It was a ton of work to do, but I was really happy with how she turned out and I won lunch for my entire office!

My oldest little brother decided that he wanted to join the army national guard, so as a going away present I made him a little letter writing package.  Being a man of few words, I thought writing to people back home would be hard for him, so I made form letters for him to fill out, along with pre-addressed stamped envelopes.  I put it all in this snazzy binder that I covered with a sweet camo print fabric.  What I didn’t realize was that the print I picked was for a different branch of the armed forces (of course now I can’t remember).  But, he couldn’t show up to basic training for the national guard with the wrong print.  Whoops!

In November, I was fortunate enough to make the trip to Columbus, Georgia to watch my not-so-little-anymore brother graduate from basic training.  I honestly can’t believe he is so grown up (and in college now!!!).

In December, I shoveled for the first time ever!  Yes, I grew up in the midwest and yes we had several snow storms over my life.  I was just spoiled to not ever have to shovel a sidewalk or snow blow a driveway.  The funny thing is, since we live in a condo we have an association that we pay to take care of snow removal.  I just did this for fun since I never had before.  🙂 We are currently on our way to one of the snowiest winters in Minnesota history.  I am so ready for springtime!

Overall, it was a really great year.  Lots of fun stuff happened and lots of big changes were made.  I’m not making any blogging New Years Resolutions this year, because I will just be disappointed when I don’t stick to them.  But, I’m really hoping to make it a little more regular than ONCE every year!

3 responses »

  1. You better keep up the posts! I want to “tie” dye!

    Reply
  2. Loran, you are so multi talented, I am so inspired!!

    Reply
  3. 1. I love your new home.. So cute!
    2. The coasters and all of your craftiness is so awesome, dude!
    3. How did I not know that your bro was in the Natl. Guard?! He’s too little to be! My brother is in it too! It’s so weird, because he’s still just a little punk to me.
    4. Keep blogging! I love to read it 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

