RSS Feed

Valentines Day is for (beer) Lovers.

Posted on

It’s no secret that my husband loves a good beer.  And since I love him, I thought I would get him something he has wanted for a while.  Tulip glasses.  Something about the shape of the glass for certain types of beer makes it taste better… I don’t pretend to understand.  I just listen and know what he would like.  So, I did some research and found tulip glasses.

Now, if I had just given him this, I would have been considered a pretty good wife.  But being the awesome wife that I am, I wanted to take it a step farther.  What better way than to personalize the glasses.  My first idea was just to take them to Things Remembered (an engraving store), and have them put a “K” on each glass.  So I called and was told it would cost over three times the price of the glass to have one letter engraved on each one.  Definitely not worth it.  So after some asking around and some research, I came to the conclusion that this could be the perfect DIY project.  And then it’s not only an amazing vday present, but a perfect opportunity to blog as well.

Step 1:

Decide what you want to etch on the glasses.  I thought long and hard about what my husband would appreciate drinking his beer out of.  I came up with the state of minnesota, the apple logo (of course) and 2 different fonts of the letter K.

Step 2:

Make stencils.  I’m sure there are easier ways of doing this, with things like contact paper and such, but I guess I did it the hard way.  I printed each of my stencils and then cut them out with an xacto knife.

Step 3:

Tape the stencils to the glass.  I used double sided tape and let some of the tape hang over the edges of the stencil.  After I attached it to the glass, I trimmed the tape that was visible.  This was just in an effort to get the stencil secured as snugly as possible to the glass, leaving no gaps for the etching chemical to seep through.  Now, I know you are all smart people and I’m sure you noticed that there were only 3 stencils in step #2.  After I finished cutting all my stencils, I held them up to the tulip glasses and realized they were too big and the shape of the glasses were too awkward.  Luckily, we had just been to Ikea the weekend before and had bought some plain pint glasses for $1 each.  These were perfect, but we only had 3 so I had to sacrifice a K.

Step 4:

Using a paint brush, brush on the etching chemical and let it sit for about 5 minutes.  Maybe even a little longer.

Step 5:

Wipe the chemical off with a wet paper towel, making sure to get all of it.  Then peel your stencil off.  After you have made sure all of the chemical is wiped off, you can wash your glass with soap and water.  Then stand back and admire your handiwork.  Personalized glasses that are really easy to make.

These make the perfect present and are relatively inexpensive to create.  The most expensive part was the etching chemical.  I purchased mine at Michael’s for $12.99 and have about half a bottle left after these 3 glasses.  Needless to say, this gift was a huge hit and hubs has already enjoyed a beer (or 2) out of his new glasses.   Stay tuned for what his gift to me was – it will be sure to inspire more than a few posts.

3 responses »

  1. This is such a sweet idea! Way to go! I bet he absolutely LOVED it!

    Reply
  2. i just saw this on Martha stewart… I have always wanted to try it… way to go pal.

    P.S.

    You can always print 40% off coupons for Michaels online. it will save you a bundle.

    Reply
  3. These are awesome, friend!!! I didn’t even know an ‘etching chemical’ existed..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

