RSS Feed

Curtains!

Posted on

I have wanted a sewing machine for a long time now.  While I have not done a lot of sewing in my life, it’s something I would like to learn.  I would love to be able to create things out of a nothing more than my imagination and some really cool fabric.  (Possibly a pattern, too).   So, living in an apartment and not being able to paint the walls, I decided that curtains would really add some color to otherwise “boring” rooms.   Exhibit A:

Such a big, ugly window with absolutely nothing going for it.  Okay, so maybe that is a little harsh, but it’s definitely boring.   What better way to spruce it up than with a fun, colorful pattern:

I actually had a really frustrating experience purchasing my fabric.   Having never done this type of thing, I wasn’t sure how to figure how many yards of fabric I needed.  So I measured my window and made a very detailed diagram to take to the store with me.   I spent about half an hour picking out the perfect fabric, and then took it up to the counter to get it cut.   I whip out my drawing and tell the girl that I’m not sure how many yards I will need.  So after a few minutes and some calculations, she tells me that I need nine yards.  NINE YARDS!  That seemed like so much fabric, but I trusted her.  So she started measuring and it didn’t take long to realize that there definitely not nine yards of fabric in the bolt that I chose.  She told me that the closest place that had that same pattern was Maple Grove.  Which is about 45 minutes away.  There was no way I was driving all the way to Maple Grove, so I said I would keep looking.  As I looked, I tried to do some calculations in my head.  I came up with 4 yards of fabric as the amount that I needed.  I’m not exactly sure how I figured it, but it seemed to make sense based on the height and width of the window and the simplicity of the curtains I was trying to construct.  I eventually found another fabric and was able to get just enough to complete my project.  So, after buying a few more essentials I was on my way to my first sewing project.   I started with cutting (with my new fancy ruler and cutter).

Then I moved onto pinning.  There is so much pinning to do when you are hemming 8 sides of fabric!  It took such a long time.

After pinning, I moved onto ironing.  There was quite the crease through the fabric from being folded on the bolt for so long.

And after ironing, I was finally ready to start sewing!  Like I said earlier, I have wanted a sewing machine for a while now but wasn’t sure what kind I should buy or how much I should spend.   Fortunately, my Grammy (who is an amazing seamstress) had a sewing machine that she was not putting to use for the time being so she generously let me borrow it for now.  It’s a really nice machine too.

Isn’t she pretty.  So, I started off my sewing adventure by having to wind a new bobbin and rethread the machine.  I have done this once before when I was just practicing on the machine, so I wasn’t too worried about it.  Unfortunately, things don’t always go as planned.  I go the bobbin wound just fine, but when I threaded the machine something was wrong and the display kept telling me that the thread was broken or out.  I couldn’t figure out what the problem was.  After 45 minutes of frustration, and one bloody finger later (I sewed myself) I finally got it to work.

After several long hours of cutting, pinning, ironing and sewing my curtains were finished!  I could not be happier with how they turned out.  I definitely think they add the element that was missing from our dining room.

Rocky really seems to like them too.

Stay tuned for my next curtain projects.  I still have the office and our bedroom to tackle.

4 responses »

  1. Loran- I’m so impressed! Window treatments are on my list of projects to concur. And it looks like they went quite smoothly (even though you made it sound like it was much more difficult!) Very, very nice work! I might have to use you as my resource when I begin to tackle them! Good work.

    P.S. If you need larger amounts of fabric, I was told “John Hancocks” (sp?) on 494 in richfield is a good fabric course. GOOD LUCK, can’t wait to check back!

    http://www.hancockfabrics.com/Store-Locator_stcVVcatId541679VVviewcat.htm

    Reply
  2. I am so proud of you!

    Reply
  3. These are really great! I have no CLUE how to bobbin or do anything with a sewing machine. I definitely need to put some curtains (or something!) up in our bedroom..

    Anyway, bravo to you! 🙂

    Reply
  4. Pingback: DIY Throw Pillows « Sew Much Love

Leave a Reply

