RSS Feed

Project #1: Bench

Posted on

We recently moved.  And now we have about double the space that we did before, which is great.  But it can also be a challenge trying to find cool pieces of furniture that are also functional to fill the space with.  At the top of the stairs we have a room that is technically supposed to be the dining room, but we thought it kind of an awkward place for eating.  So we decided it was better suited as an entryway, a place to drop grocery bags, take off shoes and hang up keys.  Naturally we needed a bench.  Something that you can sit on, and put things in.  So I started scouring craigslist for something I could use not only for the bench, but for my first ever DIY project.  This is what I found:

bench beforebench before

It was perfect, because obviously I wasn’t going to leave anything the same.  My husband took me shopping to find all the materials I would need to make this bench perfect.  (He also gave me a staple gun for our 2 year anniversary. best. present. ever.)  And I got to work.  Who knew that sanding the entire bench by hand could be so hard?  Well it was.  And it sucked.  It took forever and I still didn’t even get all of the blue paint off of it.  I also took the “gramma fabric” off of the seat cushion, to reveal an orange leather cover.  I decided that it would be too much work to take that off as well, so i decided to just reupholster over it.

removing the fabric

Using my fantastic new staple gun and some extra helping hands, provided by my husband, I put a new olive green corduroy fabric on the seat.  Then I moved onto the painting part of the process, which was undoubtedly my favorite part.  I’m not quite sure why, maybe it was also the easiest part of the process.

painting front

painting back

Then I had to wait for the paint to dry, so I could put another coat on it.  3 coats in all and what I didn’t sand off of the blue was successfully covered by glossy white paint.  Then I had to be patient and wait for it to dry, so I could haul it up from the garage and put the seat on.  And then of course start enjoying my nice, new bench.  After waiting patiently for not quite 24 hours, I decided that it was dry, and carried it up 2 flights of stairs by myself.  All I had left to do was screw the hinges onto the bench and seat, and then I was done!

finished bench

finished bench 2

I am really happy with how this turned out.  It is a great place to sit and put on shoes or put shopping bags on when I get home.  Unfortunately, I have not been able to do any of these things.  Because, of course, my cat Rocky saw it and immediately thought it was made especially for him.  Let’s just say he is a bench hog.

bench king

One response »

  1. This is really cool, Loran! I love how it turned out.. The last photo made me laugh out loud 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

